So you want to be a Makeup Artist? Social media can be a great source to network and promote your business. I have seen a lot of people promoting themselves and their business as makeup artist. So before we get into what license you need how to obtain your license let’s talk about why. Why do you want to be a makeup artist? Do you like a face as a blank canvas and cosmetics as your paint to create something beautiful? When watching television do you look at the makeup and see what’s wrong or right with the makeup? Do you watch movies just for the makeup and not the movie itself? If you can answer yes to those questions then you have a good drive to becoming a makeup artist.
I know a lot people have watch YouTube and think I can do that I love putting on makeup. I have to warn you that most of the people that you watch on YouTube are not Professional Makeup Artist. The people that you are watching have not gone to school or pass the Cosmetologists State Board Exam and do not have a license.
The first that you should do if you are serious about becoming a makeup artist and want to be paid for your services is to do your research. In the State of California, New York, and Missouri you are require by law to have a cosmetologist or esthetician license.
In the state of CA Business and Professions code section 7317 states that it is unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to engage in barbering , cosmetology , or electrolysis for compensation without a valid , unexpired license issued by the board, or in an establishment or mobile unit other than one licensed by the board, or conduct or operate an establishment, or any other place of business in which barbering, cosmetology, or electrolysis is practiced unless licensed under this chapter. Persons licensed under this chapter shall limit their practice and services rendered to the public to only those areas for which they are licensed. Any violation of this section is subject to an administrative fine and may be subject to a misdemeanor. Practice of barbering, cosmetology, or electrolysis for compensation without license which carries a $1,000 fine. If a person is not charging or receiving compensation from clients for the application or products, s/he does not need to be licensed.
In the State of New York Appearance Enhancement Rules and Regulations section 412. Civil penalties The practice of nail specialty, waxing, natural hair styling, esthetics or cosmetology, or the operation of an appearance enhancement business without a license or while under suspension or revocation, or in violation of an order directing the cessation of unlicensed activity issues by the secretary pursuant to 411 of this article, is a violation and is subject to a civil penalty of up to $500 for the first violation; $1,000 for a second such violation; and $2,500 for a third violation and any subsequent violation.
In the State of Missouri It is unlawful for any person in the state to engage in the occupation of cosmetology or to operate an establishment or school of cosmetology, unless such person has fist obtained a license as provided. Any people who shall act in any capacity other than by demonstration to or before licensed cosmetologists, or maintain any business where in a license is required pursuant to this chapter, without having such license, or any person who violates any provision is guilty of a class C misdemeanor.
Person employed in retail cosmetic sales, definition--board, rules, inspection.
329.035. 1. For the purposes of this section, "person employed in retail cosmetic sales" means any person who assists customers to select cosmetics by allowing the customer to apply samples of demonstration cosmetics, assisting the customer to apply cosmetics, or applying the cosmetic to the customer. There shall be no skin-to-skin contact between the salesperson and the customer. Assisted cosmetic applications by the customer or the person employed in retail cosmetic sales shall be performed with single-use applicators, except for perfume or cologne, samples applied to the hand or the arm or dispensed from a tube, pump, spray or shaker container, or samples or applicators that have been cleansed before each use or application. No person employed in retail cosmetic sales as provided in this section shall accept any remuneration from the customer for performing any of the acts described in this section or make such assistance or application conditioned on any sale.
2. A license as required under section 329.030 is not required for persons who are employed in retail cosmetic sales if such persons do not hold themselves out to have a license, permit, certificate of registration or any other authority authorizing such person to practice the professions licensed by the board.
3. The board may promulgate rules establishing minimum sanitation standards for persons employed in retail cosmetic sales, but such rules shall not require a sink at the cosmetic counter for a source and drainage of water or any other electrical sanitation equipment required in hairdressing or cosmetologist's or manicurist's shops licensed pursuant to this chapter. The board may inspect retail cosmetic sales establishments to ensure compliance with this section and rules promulgated there under.
My question to you is how bad do you want it? If this is a dream, passion, and love then go to school pass the board and get licensed.